Task 1 – Alphabet Photography (Research Stage)

I aimed to produce a poster after taking the images of nature themed alphabet letter photography, by using the skills I had learnt in the workshop such as masking etc. I intend to have all the images of the same width, height and orientation. I practiced with random images I had found on the internet and after trial and error managed to successfully get something looking the way I wanted, and I would use this for the actual images that I will take.

In terms of the images that I want to take I will be trying to stick to a theme of nature/outdoors as I feel it will be better to stay to one theme as this would look more appealing and far more professional than crossing over different themes. I first started out with some basic research into the field of alphabet photography and photo collages. I research about the Bauhaus Art Movement and this is what I found out,  Staatliches Bauhaus, commonly known simply as Bauhaus, was an art school in Germany that combined crafts and the fine arts, and was famous for the approach to design that it publicised and taught. It operated from 1919 to 1933. At that time the German term Bauhaus – literally “house of construction” – was understood as meaning “School of Building”. I looked into the artist Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, he was a Hungarian painter, photographer and teacher at the Bauhaus School. Moholy-Nagy was influential in promoting the Bauhaus’s multi- and mixed-media approaches to art, advocating for the integration of technological and industrial design elements.

  pnt_moholy_nagy_laszlo_1pnt_moholy_nagy_laszlo_4pnt_moholy_nagy_laszlo_2pnt_moholy_nagy_laszlo_3pnt_moholy_nagy_laszlo_5

(some of Laszlo Moholy-Nagy’s work during the movement)

Shortly after this I looked at a website called  http://www.alphabetphotography.co.uk/ this site allows you to type in any word and it will create an image with the words you have provided. All the images are of naturally occurring things from buildings to nature to man-made objects. I typed in Howard and this is the image it gave me.

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 16.11.11

These images have inspired me into taking photos of my own, and now I have a idea of the style of photos I am going to take. When taking these photos not just the letter itself comes into play but the background, lighting, colours & angle all play a part in making the image look professional and crisp. Now to take some photos of my own.

Bibliography

 Alphabet Photography, (2014), Alphabet Photography UK – Personalised Web Art. [online] Available At: www.alphabetphotography.co.uk Date Accessed: [30th Sept 2014]

Julia Brucker (The Art Story), (2014), Laszlo Moholy-Nagy Biography, Art, and Analysis of Works. [online] Available At: http://www.theartstory.org/artist-moholy-nagy-laszlo.htm Date Accessed: [30th Sept 2014]

Leave a Reply

